:: Reflection & Psalm 57 ::

psalm57_phone.jpg

My personal worship, time alone with God, on Monday mornings is normally spent reflecting on Sunday’s message. Sometimes during the week I have a hard time being consistent in personal worship, especially if I have no idea if I’m learning or “getting” anything out of the passage. This is one reason I wanted to start this blog so you girls can have a guide of what to look for in the passages.

In personal worship last week I challenged you to pray for your hear and our pastor yesterday ended the message with the same thought >>> What’s in your heart?

 Here are some insights from me straight from my journal :

How do I respond when things are hard or not the way I planned?How do I respond when my expectations aren’t met?

> I crumble, I panic, I cry and freak out. If I feel that God isn’t doing what I want or meeting my needs wants then it’s over. I blame God and get angry. I decide that if things aren’t going my way in my time then God must not have good for me.

This ladies, is so far from the truth. This is a lie that I let sink in to my heart and mind. I compare my definition of good to God’s good. Do not settle for your definition of it. You will always be disappointed. Our Savior knows our needs, he knows our desires, he knows your heart.

I wish I could be more like David in a crisis. In 1 Samuel 22 David hides in a cave to escape his enemies. I bet he never expected that he’d ever be in that situation. Remember how he started off? David was invited to play music for the king (Saul) in the kingdom. Saul grew to love him like a son. Jonathan, Saul’s actual son, loved David as much as he loved himself. David was being praised for everything he did. Then everything changed, now David is being hunted by Saul to be killed. Nothing in David’s life had prepared him for this.

David’s situation is huge! When I compare my “problems” to David’s here they seem very small. But to me they aren’t and they effect my relationship with God. I let my bitterness of unmet expectations to hinder my closeness to the Father, the one who supplies all my needs.

In Psalm 57, David teaches us how to react in crisis. He sings this when he is in the cave. It’s beautiful and so convicting because it’s nothing like the things I’ve written in my journals when I’m upset. David speaks truth to himself. He speaks of the faithfulness of God. In verse 6, David says that his enemies have tried to trip him up or tried to ruin him but they can’t. They failed because David’s soul, his very being, was set on the Father. His heart is steadfast.

So how can our heart be steadfast?

1. It starts with spending time with God every day. How can we expect our heart to be secure and changed when we are not looking to the very place that speaks to our heart? We HAVE to read the Bible. Scripture convicts us, brings us peace and hope, and is necessary for our spiritual nourishment.

2. Obedience. David was extremely obedient. Disobedience was why Saul lost everything, including God’s Spirit. A changed heart, one that is fixed on the Father, is obedient.

Spend at least 15 minutes out of your entire day to read Psalm 57. Then write a prayer telling God what’s really in your heart. God already knows your heart but sometimes we don’t until we are writing it down. Confess your disobedience and praise God for his faithfulness.

Save the above picture here to your phone as a background to remind you to set your heart on the Lord.

One thought on “:: Reflection & Psalm 57 ::

  1. Thanks for the reflection, Venice! This is great. And I think that David is obedient because he trusts God’s perfect plan for him, which is so much greater than his own plan for himself and his life. So when his expectations for himself aren’t fulfilled, he still praises the Lord like never before.
    I just pray that I’ll have David’s heart to love and trust God regardless of the circumstances around him, to do what God calls me to do, and to be who he wants me to be instead of whom I want me myself to be.

Leave a Reply

